Sunday, May 9, 2010

!967 Indianapolis 500 Winning Car

This 1967 winning car, a Sheraton-Thompson Special, was prepared by A.J. Foyt's Dad for the Museum. This was A.J. Foyt's third win. In 1977 he would win his fourth which ties him for the most wins with Rick Mears and Al Unser, Sr.
He would start fourth in the race and have an average speed of 151.207 MPH. I believe the record average speed is 185.981 set by Arie Luyendyk in 1990.

1 comment:

  1. This is very cool.....Jim & I used to go to the Glen every year for the F1 race back in the 70's.